Finland Takes Over after US as Arctic Council Chair


This month, in Fairbanks, Alaska, foreign ministers from the eight Arctic States and leaders from the six indigenous Permanent Participant organizations of the Arctic Council convened at the 10th Arctic Council Ministerial Meeting to mark the conclusion of the two-year U.S. Chairmanship and to herald the beginning of the Finnish Chairmanship, which will run from 2017 to 2019.

Foreign ministers of the eight Arctic States signed the third binding agreement negotiated under the auspices of the Arctic Council, the Agreement on Enhancing International Arctic Scientific Cooperation.

Ministers also signed the Fairbanks Declaration, which reviews the work of the Council during the outgoing U.S. Chairmanship and provides guidance for the Council’s work during the incoming Finnish Chairmanship.

The four priorities for the Finnish Chairmanship’s two years are: environmental protection; connectivity; meteorological cooperation; and education. (Click here to read the full program.)

Leave a Reply